Followers

COMING SOON!





Showing posts with label pink. Show all posts
Showing posts with label pink. Show all posts

2/10/14

Valentine's Day nail art & mani

Ya'll know I'm NOT good at nail art.
I saw a design on Pinterest that I wanted to try and recreate...
-___-
It turned out pretty crappy.
But i'll post anyway!


This is SUPPOSED to be heart shaped balloons.
But... yeah.
Didn't quite work out.
I got my hand to stop shaking long enough to do a somewhat decent job
on the hearts, but the black strings are wayyyy too thick.




Also, I have a super girl and simply mani for you:

This topcoat is one of the first indie polishes I ever bought
a couple years ago.

This is 'Monsta Love' from GlitterDaze.
Very fun :)
Nice little throwback,
as it was originally posted here.



2/9/14

Bold V-day look

I have a much brighter and bolder Valentine's Day look for you today.
Here's what I came up with:






I used:
Too Faced' Shadow Insurance
Sleek's 'Powi'- browbone
Sleek's 'Pout' & BFTE's 'Raspberry'- lid
Sleek's 'Sugarlite' & BFTE's 'Grape'- crease
Covergirl Bombshell mascara
Covergirl Line Exact eyeliner


This look isn't as polished as I would like,
but it looks okay.
What do you all think?



2/3/14

* REVIEW * Wet N Wild Mega Slicks Lip Balm Stain

So i've been seeing these bad boys bounce around the blogging world recently,
and thanks to my newfound love for this style of lip color,
(all thanks to Revlon)
I figured I'd give one a go.


The Product:
I'm not sure if Wet N Wild or Revlon started this whole lip balm thing first,
( I just know I tried Revlons first),
but I'm pretty sure these by Wet n Wild came afterwards.
Regardless of the inspiration for the product,
these balm stains are designed to be like lipstick,
but not the... how do I word it?... 'thick' texture that comprises most lipsticks.

The balm stain I scooped up was 'A Stiff Pink':


Ok, so aside from the weird and slightly sexual name, here are the claims...



Some of its Claims:
- Provides a smooth, "kissable" pout
- Conditions the lips, thanks to the Acai Palm oil
- No feathering
-6 shades
- Gives a unique, "minty", cooling sensation
- Long lasting power




The Review
The product caught my eye in the drugstore mainly because it appeared to be similar
to the Revlon balm stains I love so much,
and also because I'd seen some hype about it in the blogging world.
I bought 'A Stiff Pink' and promptly swatched it when I got home:



As you can see, it's a bright, bubblegum pink.
Though it's not so bright to look like something a 15 year old would wear :)
I would pleasantly, pleasantly surprised with it!!



PROS
- bargain price, cheaper than Revlon's balm stains
- SUPER smooth & soft
- Lovely, pink color
- Easy to apply
- No bleeding or feathering


CONS
- Only comes in 6 shades, but I expect they'll make more as the product sells
- I didn't notice any "minty cooling" effect, if that's something you're looking for
- Not quite as long lasting as it claimed, but definitely still lasts a while




The Verdict
This product FAR outweighed any expectations I had. It went on so buttery smooth
and felt great on my lips, definitely conditioning them as it claimed.
Being that this baby is a great bargain price,
you definitely get a bang for your buck!
I'm super anxious to try the other shades, too.
RATING (OUT OF 10): 9

3/23/12

a polish you could really take home to mom

HEYgirlHEY!
Hope everyone has had a fantastic week.
I'm super pumped tomorrow is friday.

Ok so tonight's post is featuring my first of the 6 Zoyas I got in their recent promotion.
:)

Without further ado, 'Kylie'
* yes, the cuticle on my pointer finger is atrocious atm
* as you can see, I brushed my thumb against my shirt as it was drying :/ but I was too lazy to redo it.

* fluorescent light

Zoya describes 'Kylie' as " medium dusty pink with a touch of mauve and frosty silver shimmer."  They've put it in the metallics family... though I believe it barely fits the category. It IS a it sheer, but (though I did 2 coats here) 3 coats should suffice for opacity. 'Kylie' is a lovely, delicate pink that actually shows up on my nails much better than I thought it would.

I titled this post what I did because, for whatever reason, this polish reminds me of just a good, classic, never-can-go-wrong-with-it kind of polish that is toned down enough that it's totally acceptable to pretty much anyone :) I love the crazy colors as much as the next person, but this shade is a great go-to, work appropriate shade that can really be worn anywhere with anything.

I tried in my pictures to capture the pretty little shimmer it has to it, but I don't think it did a very good job :/ Sigh, oh well.

Anyway, that's all for tonight!



2/9/12

newest additions & a Pinks-y Sphynx-y Valentine's look! (PICTURE HEAVY!)

ello, friends!
Ok, I want to jump right into tonight's post because I'm super excited about it.


First off are the newest additions to my little polish/make-up collection.
Woo!

* UD's badA glitter eyeliner in a lovely pink-- 'Groupie'

'Techno' & 'Kinetic Candy' from CG's new Electropop collection!

Ulta's 'Pinata-Yada-Yada


WOO! I also got a nail art brush & dotting tool- for I think my nails are finally long enough that I may attempt some nail art! 


ANYWAY, on to the make up.
So it's been way too long since I've done a look & i figured that, with Valentine's coming up, I would attempt some new looks in honor of that.

I give you my 'Pinks-y Sphynx-y' :)


*forgive my funky eyebrow- i've always had one with a cowlick :/


SWATCHES!
(all Urban Decay)
'Rockstar', 'Junkshow', 'Sphynx'


As I was beginning this look & blending and whatnot, I really thought that I looked like a legit crazy person. But when I saw the finished product- I actually quite liked it. It's a bit bold and bright for Valentine's Day, but I like it all the same :D

I used my finger to apply 'Sphynx' as a base, then used my finger again to apply 'Junkshow' on the outer corners. After that I used a blending/shadow brush for the crease- where I used 'Rockstar', thought I used it in a very subtle way.

AS ALWAYS, blending with UD is a dream and it's super easy to achieve the effect you're going for.

What do you guys think?
:)

Have a lovely night!

12/9/11

positively pink

WHAT'SUPWHAT'SUP
So i know that I mentioned in a previous post that I don't like pink eye shadow on me, but that was light pink- a brighter pink, i don't mind :) SO, today I was inspired to do the pink look, as it's been a long time since i've done it.

* crappy bathroom light

* close up; weird, fluorescent light

*look when eyes are open!

I actually really like this look. It can definitely be a daytime look and has that slight subtlety to it that I prefer to use so often. I really love playing with all the different shades and blending until I find a combination I like :)

Swatches (all urban decay, of course) :
Vanilla, Midnight 15, Scratch, Fishnets, & Junkshow

Unfortunately, some of these shades are only available in their respective palettes, not sold separately. 'Vanilla', 'Midnight 15', & 'Junkshow' all come in the 15th Anniversary palette. 'Scratch' & 'Fishnets' come in the Deluxe Shadow palette (if you're going to get ANY palette at all- get this one! it has all the best shades. in my opinion :p), AND are sold separately for $18 a piece.

And, as always, not all of these shadows are necessary to achieve this look. One could easily just use Vanilla, Scratch, & Fishnets :)



** ALSO, The GiveAway Lifestyle is doing a blog hop. Check it out to get your name out there!




Thanks for reading :D